DIY: Mini Party Cat Hats!

main-photo-(65)

Mini party hats. Brilliant, right? No nasty string bugging your chin, and there’s something cuter about them cocked to one side. I had seen this image bouncing around on Pinterest and decided to spring into action for Jessi’s birthday party. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any further instructions than what the image said, so I definitely had my work cut out for me. But, dear kittens, I feel I prevailed (even if we did have to set up a “Party Hat Repair Station” during the festivities). Now that I know what did and didn’t work though, I’ll be able to share with you the best ways to make your own!

Let’s get started!

diy-materials

Materials:

card stock paper with your choice of pattern

Note: I couldn’t find the cat paper I was envisioning in my head, so I stalked party goers’ fb pages for their cats and then collaged them together in Photoshop. I love how it turned out!

writing utensil
party hat template (download this nifty one from Oh Happy Day! and then check out her cute blog)

Note: I was too lazy to print it out so I just sketched it and it came out fine. You’ll see I didn’t do the little flap on the side just because I thought it looked like more work, but it would have probably helped.

scissors
headbands
decorations, like pom-poms, fringe, crepe paper, stickers, garland, etc!
hot glue gun + glue
ribbon

Instructions:

Untitled-1

Step 1: Using your party hat template, trace the template onto your cat paper.

Step 2: Twist the paper to shape it into a little hat. I practiced on a few blank sheets first and I believe that helped. I just taped it shut on the seam. Some of the tricky ones I glued down with the glue gun. Note: if you think it’s too big, just adjust the size of your template by cutting the bottom portion.

Step 3: Decorate that hat! I glued everything onto the hat with the glue gun. Pom poms on top are a must! To make the fringe with the crepe paper, just glue lengthwise, the cut into strips. I say in this situation, the more festive the better! Just keep gluing. Start everything on the seam (see pic) so that way it will be nice and clean on all sides.

Step 4: Now comes the part that I found tricky: attaching it to the headband. At first I used the glue gun, which sort of worked, but then most of them fell apart at the party. SO: Jessi came up with how to attach them and it’s genius. Poke a hole on each side (I just used a regular ol’ ink pen). Now thread some ribbon through each side and tie to the headband. Do on both sides of the hat. This is genius because it (surprisingly) doesn’t fall off, AND because it’s adjustable on the headband. Note: I used ribbons so I could make cute little bows, but you can use a slew of things. During the party we had to think on our feet so we ended up using pipe cleaner and it worked like a charm!

Step 5: You’re done. Go wear that party hat with pride. Meow!

completed-party-hats

Us in our party hats!

Us in our party hats!

This is just the first post of our fun-filled birthday week! Stay tuned for our birthday party outfits and nummy birthday appetizer!

marlena-signature

4 thoughts on “DIY: Mini Party Cat Hats!

  1. Pingback: Partyyyy Time | Here, Pretty Kitty!

Leave a Reply

