Partyyyy Time

photo(68)

If you know me well, and even if you don’t, you know that I love my birthday!! Birthday week as a whole was really amazing for me this year, and the best part was definitely the birthday party John and I threw at our place. Lemme tell you kittens, it did not disappoint! I had a great time, as did the guests. There was food, friends, music, dancing, presents (!!!) and of course the AHMAZING cat party hats that Marlena made. Check out the DIY to see what I’m talking about.
During the party John got out his old camcorder and secretly pulled friends aside to have them record birthday messages for me Real World confessional style. It was such a fun treat to watch the next morning! It was all so much fun I almost forgot that I even turned 30 🙂

I love this lil party number I picked up at Forever21. Sizing at Forever21 can definitely be a little discouraging. Sometimes I’m a small and sometimes I can’t even squeeze into a large… This dress has a nice poufy skirt which I assumed would be no problem, but once I got it on the lining inside was so tiny I couldn’t fit it over my hips. I bought the dress anyway and promptly cut out the unnecessary lining and voila! Problem solved.
I’ve been waiting for a purrrrrfect occasion to break out these bow tights and they did not disappoint. They felt right at home under this dress adorned with bows at the hip. I thought these shoes would be new favorites but after wearing them for a whole night I’m not so sure. My feet and calves were paying for all the dancing done in those pretty shoes, but (almost) worth it, I’d say!
All the jewelry worn were presents given to me throughout the night. During party preparations I forgot to accessorize, but that turned out to be no problem at all. Thanks friends!

P.s. I can’t forget to mention Gladys the goose! Doesn’t she look pretty sitting there in the corner? She was definitely a hit of the night.

photo(81)

photo(69)

photo(80)

details-jessi

Hi there, Marlena here! We decided to do our outfit post together this week: and I have to say that even though our pics are a bit lower in quality (I mean, our main light source was a goose) they are a bit higher in fun! Haha, that sounds cheesy but it’s true. Anyway,  I absolutely love John and Jessi’s parties: they never disappoint, and this time was no exception! Between the dancing, the cheese ball, and the awful strawberry whiskey, I had a wonderful time; I mean it ended with me begging my husband to let me spend the night! (He reasonably said no.)

I just bought this dress at Urban Outfitters when we were in Omaha during one of those “clearance-is-on-clearance” sales. I like to think I saved this dress from the shredder. Or Marshall’s. It has a lot of the best things I look for in a dress: stripes, sweetheart neckline, cut out back, and pockets! I went the nautical route by adding my red bow belt and blue flats. I must have been too excited for the party because I, like Jessi, totally forgot about jewelry! Woops.

Well, happy birthday again to my lovely blogger bestie!

photo(59)

photo(79)

details-marlena

Jessi’s outfit details: Dress :: forever21 | tights :: target | shoes :: urban outfitters | earrings/necklace :: gift! | bow pin :: gift! | party hat :: marlena! DIY

Marlena’s outfit details: party cat hat :: DIY | dress :: Urban Outfitters (similar)| red bow belt :: thrifted | flats :: Charlotte Russe (coral version)

both-signature

5 thoughts on “Partyyyy Time

Leave a Reply

