DIY: Sharpie Purse

DIYpurse=steps

I have an easy DIY for you today! So I bought this purse for Jessi for her b-day, but the more I looked at it, the more I kept thinking it needed something. Metallic triangles were the answer. In the end, I’d say my little project was a success: Jessi thought I bought it with the triangles! That’s the best compliment, right?

Materials Needed:

Something blank to design, like this soft fake leather purse
Metallic Sharpie permanent marker

Instructions:

This is so easy! Just take out that sharpie and get crazy with it. I think the simple shapes work best, but do whatever you please.

Pointer #1: The key to making this work is the material. I think this particular purse is some sort of fake leather, and the Sharpie just went on like… well… a permanent marker. I was going to put a topcoat finisher on it, but I didn’t think it was necessary. If you think it might smear, though, perhaps try one. I have a spray one that I got at Micheal’s.

Pointer #2: in my head the triangle pattern was less all over the place and more static, but let’s get real: drawing the same triangle exactly the same length apart all the time is hard. So random is way less stressful and it still turns out lovely!

Pointer/Random thought #3: If you don’t have a bag to draw on, just draw polka dots, stripes or cat silhouettes on your nails!

photo_2 triangle-purse-complete

Good luck, pretty kitties! Let me know if you tackle a project with a metallic sharpie, especially a purse!

marlena-signature

9 thoughts on “DIY: Sharpie Purse

  1. Pingback: Birthday gift outfit | Here, Pretty Kitty!

    • nope, happily i made that for jessi back in april and i just spoke with her and she said the triangles are still going strong! i think it all has to do with the texture, because i did a coffee cup with the same metallic sharpie and baked it and it totally rubbed off after a couple of weeks. so the soft, fake leather works like a dream! xoxo

Leave a Reply

