Perm is a 4-letter Word

Perms. I know what you’re thinking: Giant bangs, teased out hair, scrunchies on your wrist and Lisa Frank trapper keepers in your lockers. Well there will always be that perm and no one can take that away from it. But I’m here to tell you about the new perm, now referred to as a texture service at a salon near you. I have wanted curly hair for about 10 years but it was a sort of longing that I never dreamed would come true, like being a cat for a day or taking a bath in macaroni and cheese. But look at me now! My dear friend Devan at Bombshell Betty’s gave me a beach wave perm. There are countless things I love about it but here are two: 1. I don’t have to brush it and 2. it’s curly straight out of the shower but it also does marvelous things when prompted with a little help from my curling iron wand!

Okay, I’ll stop gushing about my hair. For now.

photo_1-(4)

photo-(5)

photo(35)

Uh oh… Where did my belt go?

details-marlena

photo_4-(2)

Des Moines is in full bloom these days, and I can’t get over these trees! So so so so so pretty! I wore this little yellow lace top under my strapless dress (did you see it has a MUFF for pockets?! sold) because I didn’t think it was quite warm enough for a strapless dress. Turns out I was wrong, but I’m okay with it. Remember these glasses? Yeah, I gave them to Jessi for her birthday but I just couldn’t not own them. I mean, hearts AND mint?!

Outfit details: Heart-shaped Sunglasses :: Kohl’s | Lace top :: Forever 21 | Strapless dress :: Urban Outfitters | Belt :: Gift from Jessi, Forever 21 (pink) | Flats :: Charlotte Russe (coral)

Hope you’re having a pretty week, and come back for Jessi’s darling post among the trees later in the week!

marlena-signature

p.s. Are you on Instagram? Cuz we are! Follow us at HerePrettyKittyKitty for outfit inspirations and oh so much more!

5 thoughts on “Perm is a 4-letter Word

    • Oh oops! I’m confusing aren’t I? This should last for like 6 months, I meant the curl lasts until I take a shower… and then it’s still curly! So yeah, it does last longer than 2 days. I’m going to fix this now, haha!

      • Oh thanks 🙂 I thought it was some magic new thing I haven’t heard of before 🙂 I have a co-worker with a perm and she hates it, but I used to have one and it brought so much life to my thin hair 🙂
        Love your blog, if you are ever in Minneapolis, let me know!
        Xo,
        Z

Leave a Reply

