80/35 Weekend

I look forward to 80/35 every year. It’s Des Moines’ best music festival, and it’s within walking distance to my house. Kitties, I had the BEST weekend! Our good friends Paul and Vanessa were in town from Portland, my little brother came from Missouri, and then being surrounded by all my favorite Des Moines people is always a treat.

Highlights of Day 1 included Charlie dancing his little ass off to Yeasayer, being blown away by David Byrne + St. Vincent, eating amazing gyros, Little Mermaid memories, and fun shots at the Lift.

I had put more energy into thinking about Saturday’s outfit than Friday’s, so I actually threw this on last minute. I just got this maxi dress from our Chicago trip and it’s insanely comfortable. I added these red shell earrings to help add a little patriotism to the festive weekend.

You’ll find our photos a little lacking on quality this week. It’s a good thing we’re not always half drunk when we do these pics!

DAY 1

photo-(3)

photo_1-(3)

details-marlena

photo_2-(3)

photo_6-(3)

Day 1 outfit details: red shell earrings & belt :: gifts from Jessi | anchor maxi dress :: kokorokoko | flip flops :: target

DAY 2

photo

details-marlena2

photo_3

photo_5

details-marlena3

Day 2 I found myself shedding the high-waisted jean shorts I was going to wear because they were too hot and uncomfortable. I feel like I had a pretty quintessential festival outfit on anyway:  the flower crown, the crop top, the vest . . .  I just went for it.

Day 2 highlights: Wavves, amazing crab rangoon, trying to rap along with Wu Tang Clan, after party at our house, my decisively on point imitation of a basement cricket.

Day 2 outfit details: flower crown :: DIY | sunglasses :: Urban Outfitters (similar) | earrings :: H&M (similar) | vest :: Charlotte Russe | giraffe crop tank :: gift from Jessi | heart necklace :: Forever 21 | polka dot shorts :: Target | Shoes :: Urban Outfitters

marlena-signature

Leave a Reply

