Chicago Road Trip!

As Jessi mentioned, we headed to Chicago for She & Him for a birthday weekend. My best friend in the whole wide world, Kim, lives in Chicago so I was so excited I couldn’t sleep for days. I felt like when I was 12 and would toss and turn thinking about rollercoasters the night before going to Six Flags. I’m happy to report the weekend lived up to my sleepless nights!

Kim knows that when I visit I have to stop at my two favorite vintage shops, Kokorokoko and Shangri-La Vintage. They did not disappoint! Jessi found out about the Urban Outfitters Outlet store on Clark and let’s just say we didn’t want to leave.

For the concert I found my inner (outer?) Zooey and wore this Dear Creatures dress Joe bought me for painting the kitchen. For accessories, I just kept adding what I bought to the ensemble. When Kim (or was it Jessi?) pointed out this amazing zebra mural I knew it was perfect for my outfit! I kind of blend right in, don’t I?

photo_1

photo

photo_8

photo_3

details-marlena

Chicago highlights included: Uber cab, playing board games with Jessi, John and Kim the first night, shopping and drinking beer, the concert, Vernon and the Ethiopian Bread Debacle, Jessi trying to get on the L, getting bitten all night by a lovely little demon cat named Joey, and catching up with Miss Kim. So, basically every minute! And I thought turning 31 would be oh so boring. . .

Outfit details: Sunnies :: Urban Outfitters (similar) | Earrings :: DIY | Dress :: Dear Creatures, Vitae Design Collective | Belt :: Francesca’s | Aqua ring :: Gift from Kim | Laura Palmer ring :: Kokorokoko | Purse :: thrifted

marlena-signature

5 thoughts on “Chicago Road Trip!

  1. Pingback: It’s our blogiversary! | Here, Pretty Kitty! an Iowa fashion blog

Leave a Reply

