Can you class up overalls?

That’s the question that was on my mind after I bought these dark wash overalls. Since having Charlie my trips to Wal-Mart are much more frequent, due to these individual containers of carrots, corn and peas I can only find there. So while I’m trying to get to the veggie aisle as fast as possible these overalls are sticking out on a rack all by themselves, marked down to $15 and they’re my size! I don’t even try them on, I just grab and go.
And I’m so glad I did! I’m loving everything about them, except they are pretty annoying when you have to pee. Anyway, on this particular day I thought I’d try to fancy them up a bit. I got this sheer blouse from Joe for Christmas and haven’t worn it a lot, but I like it here. I also liked giving the whole outfit a pop of color with my H&M sandals and my bow sunglasses. (I used the same idea behind our DIY Embellished Sunglasses post for these!)

photo_1-(3)

photo_5-(2)

photo_2-(4)

photo_2-(3)

photo-(4)

Isn’t this clutch the tops? Jessi got it for me as one of my birthday presents! It’s perfect when all you need is money, keys and your phone. I’ve also been wearing this cute mint necklace that Kim got me for my birthday. This outfit is made up of more gifts than I realized!

Have you bought yourself a pair of overalls yet? I want to know how you’re styling them! Classic striped top? Lacy pink number? Grungy tee? Kelly Kapowski-style one strap? Oh the possibilities…

Outfit details: sunglasses :: thrifted, DIY | sheer blouse :: gift from Joe | necklace :: gift from Kim | Overalls :: Wal-Mart | Sandals :: H&M | Clutch :: gift from Jessi, Vitae Design Collective

marlena-signature

Pssst: I linked up to My Greatest Hit’s link party this week. Check out Kayla’s cute blog here:

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 7.10.22 PM

One thought on “Can you class up overalls?

Leave a Reply

