DIY: Confetti Hearts!

photo

For Jessi’s wedding, we agreed that confetti would be so fun to throw after the ceremony. I searched high and low for a fun way to hold the little morsels. This post on Ruche’s blog was perfect because guests could just rip open the little hearts when they’re ready and throw. I didn’t want to put as much effort into it as that post, though, so without further ado, here’s my super easy way of making confetti hearts!

SUPPLIES
scrap paper
vellum paper (I got this polka dotted type at Michaels)
pen
scissors
glue pen (Mine is this one from Martha Stewart’s line)
confetti (I just used a hole punch + construction paper. It’s time consuming; I suggest buying!)

steps2-3

steps4-5

DIRECTIONS
1. Make a heart template by drawing a heart and cutting it out on a separate piece of paper. I used a green piece of construction paper.
2. Place your heart on the vellum and cut your hearts out. I didn’t trace around the template because I didn’t want any sort of pen mark to show since it’s transparent.
3. Using the glue pen, draw around each heart edge, leaving part of it unglued so you can put in the confetti.
4. Place another heart on top of the glued heart.
5. To put the confetti in the heart, I found it useful to stick a finger or a pencil or something in the heart to sort of balloon it out a bit. Then just dump in the confetti!
6. Glue the seam shut. Repeat!

final=confetti-heart

TIPS
Make your hearts pretty large, otherwise you won’t be able to stick much confetti in each one. I’d suggest about 8 hearts per 12 x 12 sheet of vellum. The hearts shown here aren’t that big but I wish they were!
Don’t overstuff your heart or the seams will start bustin’ out and it’s pretty annoying.
I also tried a glue stick and scrapbook adhesive. The glue pen worked the best; if you have a steady hand and more patience than me a glue gun would work.

I have to admit that in the end, we are using these little hearts as decoration on the dessert table instead because a) they are cute without ripping them open and b) I ran out of time to make enough for all the confetti we had!

marlena-signature

2 thoughts on “DIY: Confetti Hearts!

Leave a Reply

