Wedding Rehearsal

I get really into celebrations and because of this, I don’t have a birthday, I have a birthday week (or month, if I can get away with it!) and likewise, our wedding wasn’t just one day, it was a whole wedding week! I made the fantastic decision to take the entire week before my wedding off of work and I have to say I am SO glad to have made that decision. This gave me the chance to rest, tie up loose ends before the wedding and spend some extra time with friends that came from out of town. By the time the wedding itself actually rolled around I felt really prepared and fairly calm.

The day before the wedding I took to my bridesmaids to get manicures and pedicures, something I’d never done before but something I will definitely be doing again! It was the best, most relaxing treat!! And, a month later, my pedicure is actually still holding up really well. Bonus!

From there an army of friends and family helped decorate the venue and before I knew it it was time to get ready for our rehearsal and rehearsal dinner!

We really lucked out in that we got our wedding venue for the entire weekend, which afforded us the luxury of decorating the day before as well as deciding to host a low key rehearsal dinner in the venue. We loved our wedding venue a lot, it was such a great open space and looked so lovely all decorated up to our taste, so we decided to throw a pizza party there instead of planning a fancy dinner elsewhere. I admit the thought of foregoing a fancy rehearsal dinner wasn’t my first choice, but once my husband suggested it it made sense and I’m so happy we chose something low key. Especially after all the wedding planning we did; planning a rehearsal dinner was the last thing I wanted to do. So we got pizza from our favorite local pizza place and my mom very generously made desserts (super delicious tiramisu!) and we broke into the beer and wine supply we had set aside for the wedding.

photo

photo_2

photo_4

gold-nails

details-jessi

Now this dress… I’m in love with it and have been for years! I got it at a vintage store in Omaha and have only broken it out on a few occasions. Our wedding rehearsal was definitely a special enough occasion for this dress. It’s made so well, as many vintage dresses are. They really don’t make clothes like they used to. Having bought a lot of vintage over the years I have realized though, a sad fact of vintage dresses is that they are often pretty uncomfortable. This is not the case with this dress, thankfully! The material has a nice weight to it and it actually has a good amount of stretch, which I always appreciate!

I got these wedges recently from Modcloth, and they are so super comfy. They come with a detachable ankle strap, which I like. An ankle strap can be nice but I’m just not always in the mood for it, you know?
The bow was a last minute decision- it’s very hard for me to go anywhere without some sort of hair accessory on. I got this one at Vitae and think its pops out of my black hair very nicely!

Over the years John has done a great job of getting me antique rings (great guy!) but ever since I got my engagement ring I stopped wearing them, I guess to showcase it as being the REALLY special ring! But I loved the other rings he’s given me and I always will. The ring on my right hand here is the first one he gave me (well, technically the second, I lost the first one he gave me, which was kind of devastating to me at the time…) and I have always loved this one, especially. He got it at a flea market, and now after some years it’s missing some stones but I still love it as much as I always have.

Now that I’ve made it through planning a wedding, some people have asked me for advice, which is this (maybe a tad cliche but all true):
• Do what you want to do, it is your wedding after all.
• Let other people help you, because they want to help you!
• Take time off of work beforehand 🙂
• And finally, have fun and appreciate everything as its happening!

Outfit details: dress :: Thrifted | bow :: Vitae | shoes :: Modcloth | tights :: Target (last season) |

jessi-signature

One thought on “Wedding Rehearsal

  1. Pingback: A big geo heart and little bitty birdies | Here, Pretty Kitty! an Iowa fashion blog

Leave a Reply

