A bit of nostalgia

I love clothes that I can still remember the day I bought them. This dress is the best dress and I’ve had it for years. One summer I wore it so much my mother exclaimed, “Do you own any other clothes?!” But I just love it! I was with my bff Mindy, super hungover after St. Patty’s Day in St. Louis, and we were shopping in the Galleria at Urban Outfitters. I was feeling TERRIBLE and Mindy grabs this very dress and says, “You should try this on, it will look great on you.” I was doubtful, mainly because I felt like I was lacking the necessary skills to take off my clothes without getting dizzy. Kitties: the sky parted that day. When I put this dress on, my hangover vanished and I gaped in the mirror. The stripes! The cute open back (sorry, you can’t see it)! The little gold buttons! Even today, about 5 years later, I slipped it on and felt instantly better about every little thing there is.

photo-2

twomarlenas

photo-1

photo-neckdown

details-marlena

What do you start with when putting together an outfit? Usually I’m normal and start with the main piece, like this dress, but today I started with this belt. I’ve been on the hunt for thicker belts since I have so many skinny ones, and lo and behold this one I uncovered in my own belt drawer. Win win!

Outfit details: earrings :: Urban Outfitters (old) | best dress ever :: Urban Outfitters (SO old!) | gold cardigan :: Charlotte Russe (you guessed it: old as can be!) | belt :: thrifted | shoes :: Seychelles (sadly the plum color is gone) | clutch :: Vitae Design Collective 

marlena-signature

One thought on “A bit of nostalgia

  1. Pingback: Two day roller coaster | Here, Pretty Kitty! an Iowa fashion blog

Leave a Reply

