Practicality is for Suckers

This skirt is what I call a “standing only skirt.” It’s very 80s, very high waisted and very tight (and therefore very hard to sit down in.) But very worth it, I say! The fact that I can manage to wiggle into this thing is a miracle and watching me do so is, I’m sure, simultaneously hilarious and disturbing (just ask my husband!) But the heart wants what the heart wants, and my heart wants this skirt. I love this skirt because it goes with pretty much anything. Because it’s so high waisted I love to pair it with smaller sweaters, crop tops and button-ups tied at the waist. It transitioned beautifully from summer to fall to winter and has proven to be super durable (it’s not bursting at the seams yet!)

I’ve been working on purging my closet and in the process have unearthed some tops I haven’t worn in ages but can’t bring myself to part with. I love the fabric, color and print of this shirt but it really doesn’t do a great job of staying buttoned, which is why it sat in the back of my closet for so long.
Finally, the last secret about this outfit: the shoes are a tad broken, but that doesn’t stop me from wearing them. Pretty much this is the perfect outfit for doing absolutely nothing: no sitting, no walking… I never claimed to be practical!

photo

photo_52

photo_5

photo_3

photo_2

photo_1

photo_35

So I’ll pose this question: do you guys have clothes that are anything but practical yet you can’t part with them because you love them??? I hope I’m not the only one!

Outfit details: sweater, bow :: Urban Outfitters | shoes :: Hill Vintage | shirt, skirt :: White Rabbit | earrings :: Domestica (gift)Β 

jessi-signature

Purrrrrrr! Follow us on: Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Facebook

3 thoughts on “Practicality is for Suckers

  1. I love this look! You may not get to “do” much in this outfit, but it is absolutely adorable, so at least you got a super cute blog post out of it, right?? That’s justification enough for me! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

