Favorites: Podcasts!

podcasts

Fun fact: Jessi and I love podcasts! Jessi told me about them eons ago and I finally listened to her and I’m so glad I did! So today we are bringing you our favorites that we listen to, and if you know what’s good for you, you will start listening to them too! All you have to do is search for the podcast names in iTunes, click subscribe, and you’re well on your way to being a happier person. You’re welcome!

MARLENA

totally
Totally Laime
Cutie pie Elizabeth Laime hosts this weekly podcast usually with her husband Andy and a fun comedian every week. It includes a fun game called “Totally/Lame Rapid Fire” which is also fun to play with your friends! Bonus: they have two other solid podcasts, Totally Married and Totally Mommy, where they answer listener questions about anything from dating a stripper to circumcision.
Fav episodes: Doug Mand, Gillian Vigman, and Dave Holmes

aliegeorgia

Slumber Party with Alie & Georgia
I found out about these two girls randomly (or not randomly at all?) through their show on the Cooking Channel, Trippin’ Out with Alie and Georgia. Girl crush commenced and then I found out they have a fun podcast too, slumber party style! They are super funny and I find I always learn something when I listen. Bonus: they like to talk about midnight snacks, one of my favorite questions of all time!
Fav episodes: Randy Liedtke, Joselyn Hughes, Joy the Baker

comedybingbong

Comedy Bang Bang: The Podcast
This high-energy podcast can be bizarre in both good and bad ways. I find that I will binge listen a few days in a row, and then go a couple of weeks before I listen again. Host Scott Aukerman is absolutely hilarious and I catch myself saying things he says all the time. He also has Paul F. Tompkins on a lot, and simply put: they are just really funny together. I will admit it took me a few listens to start appreciating it, because they always have a “guest” on that is a comedian doing a character. Depending on who the character is can either make or break the show, but I have to say it usually makes it!
Fav episodes: Amy Poehler, Bob Odenkirk & the Birthday Boys, Ben Schwartz

JESSI

jen

I Seem Fun: The Diary of Jen Kirkman
This podcast is different than most others since Ms. Kirkman flies totally solo for every podcast. This is hard to pull off but she is so captivating and funny that it doesn’t take long to get used to. She talks about everything from current events to music to weird encounters from her life. She even dips her toe into the pool of her personal life and tells stories that are often poignant and make the podcast so very worth it. She’s a funny, super smart lady and I look forward to new episodes from her every week!
Fav episodes: I’m a Wanderer…I go round round around, Headphones Healing, Feel the Love Buzz

terrible

This Feels Terrible
Erin McGathy hosts this candid and heartfelt podcast about love sex and romance. Each week she welcomes a guest (typically from the LA comedy community) to share tales of heartbreak and woe. It’s funny and relatable and basically like listening to advice from your older sister. My only complaint is that the podcast isn’t updated regularly, which means I can’t consistently get my fix. But, if you’re just starting out there are plenty to get caught up on, and the episodes are always worth the wait!
Fav episodes: Kimberly Hall, Duncan Trussell, Dan Harmon

howmade

How Did This Get Made
This podcast examines some of the very worst movies ever made! Hosted by Paul Sheer, June Diane Raphael and Jason Mantzoukas, it’s full of comedy and sometimes even compassion for the best of the worst movies of our time. Bonus if you’re able to watch the movie they discuss before listening to the podcast, but they are entertaining enough on their own that its not totally necessary. Super fun and Funny!
Fav episodes: The Room, Birdemic, From Justin to Kelly

Podcast tip! One of our favorite things to do is to find a good guest and then listen to random podcasts they’ve been on. Some fun guests (and hosts are good too!) we’ve stalked in the past: Natasha Legerro, Jenny Slate, Casey Wilson, Chris Gethard. Elizabeth Laime, Erin McGathy, Melissa Stephens, Jen Kirkman, June Diane Raphael, Ken Marino, Emily Gordon, and Jenny Mollen. Whew! You have a lot of listening to do!

both-signature

3 thoughts on “Favorites: Podcasts!

  1. Pingback: The Not So Morning Show- Ok Let’s Talk Podcasts

  2. Pingback: Road Trip + Family Fun | Here, Pretty Kitty! an Iowa fashion blog

Leave a Reply

