Back to Basics

I am so excited about this outfit, not because it’s particularly special or exciting, but because I got to put on shorts and step outside and it wasn’t completely inappropriate!!! You guys, it’s the best feeling, am I right?

These shorts are new to me, I picked them up recently when I went thrifting with a friend. I’m really in to the high-waisted mom-jean look, and I mean that completely un-ironically. It’s just my taste! Usually when I go thrifting I come home with an armload of things to alter and these shorts were no exception. Honestly, I was a little embarrassed to buy them because they started as a really hideous pair of Capri jeans with an elastic waist. Sorry, they just were not cute! But I saw potential so I hacked them up and transformed them into shorts that I feel good about.

This is a really typical lazy day outfit for me. When I’m not sure what to wear or don’t care much I’m usually happy pairing a grey t-shirt and sweater with a skirt, shorts or black skinny jeans.

The color of this sweater really gets me. It’s just SO bright! I think it really elevates any outfit up a notch. 9 out of 10 times I prefer dressing up and wearing something fun, but sometimes it feels soooo good to go to staples like these that I know work for me.

photo1

photo2

photo4

photo3

photo5

photo6

Another thing that I love about spring is changing up what I’ve been listening to. I’ve been super into Sleigh Bells of late. They’re so fun and energetic and great for car rides or exercising. Plus, they’re playing in Des Moines later this month and I’m psyched to see them live for the second time!!

Outfit details: shorts, sweater :: thrifted | sunglasses, shirt, belt :: forever21 | shoes :: bcbg

jessi-signature

6 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. Super cute spring outfit – I love your mom-jeans-to-shorts refashion!! And you’re so right, the bright sweater definitely kicks the outfit up a notch (and those polka dot shoes, too)!!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

