On being a mom

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mommas out there! A couple nights ago my husband asked, “Did you always know you were going to be a great mom?” To which I of course laughed and said, “Huh? I feel like you don’t know until you become one, and then every week you question it.” He then said, “Well you are, but I just figured you always knew you’d be since you have such a great mom to emulate.” And it’s true! I do have a great mom! She has taught me to be patient, loving, and to trust my instincts, all three traits that have been indispensable when raising a little one.  It can still be hard as shit on some days, but the majority of the time it isn’t. Okay: now I’ll stop and focus on a great thing about Mother’s Day: the presents!

I got home on Friday and my boys had surprised me with my gifts early: a beautiful orchid my son picked out, and even more beautiful earrings and bracelet my husband picked out! This weekend has been lovely already and it’s just the morning of actual Mother’s Day. I’m feeling very spoiled! Right now Joe is cooking me a big breakfast and Charlie slept in until 8:30. Win Win!

photo2

photo1-(2)

photo5-(2)

photo3

marlena-details

photo6

I just bought this skirt during Pink Revolver’s trunk show last weekend. I love it! It’s the perfect fit and length, and I love the pattern! My top is actually a dress (which I’ve worn before here) but  I love how it brings out the lighter colors in the skirt.

Outfit details: Marc by Marc Jacobs earrings and bracelet :: gifts from Joe | shirt (dress) :: thrifted | skirt: Pink Revolver, available to Vitae Design Collective | belt and sandals :: Target

Have a happy rest of your weekend! I’m off to eat blueberry pancakes….

marlena-signature

6 thoughts on “On being a mom

Leave a Reply

