On crop tops in your 30s

As Jessi mentioned in her last post, 80/35 is always a highlight of the summer, and this year was no different! Fashion-wise, I declared this year to be Crop Top Year at the music festival. Before you cringe and think, “Oh God, isn’t she in her thirties?” please know that high-waisted skirts are the solution to the “How DO I make this a crop top year when I’m 32?”

DAY ONE

I found this gem of a denim crop while thrifting with Jessi in Kansas City earlier this summer. It actually has a hole in the middle of it to show off your totties but I opted out of that little circus and instead tied this scarf around myself like a little gift and pulled the bow part out! The first day of the music festival was July 4th, so naturally I had to milk that for all it was worth. This amazing Western-style skirt I found just days before the festival, and it’s really the perfect skirt to get your twirl on in.

Friday highlights: Watching my son tap his little foot to the beat of the music and Conor Oberst taking me back to 2002 when I loved Bright Eyes!

photo2-(4)

photo8-(4)

photo1-(4)

marlena-detailsuu

Outfit details: sunglasses, earrings :: Forever 21 | Denim crop top :: Re-Runs in Kansas City | red scarf :: thrifted | skirt :: Atomic Garage | sandals :: K-mart (yep. and I love them. AND they are on sale right now for $8)

DAY TWO

Day two I of course continued with my crop + high waisted skirt theme, although this time I left the country at home and went with a bit bolder ensemble. I decided on tights because I felt like I was going to end up accidentally flashing my butt to strangers every time I sat down on the street curb to eat a corn dog. Problem solver!

This outfit is my favorite of the two, which surprises me since I admittedly didn’t have it on all day. In the morning I opted for an easy, summer dress because my hangover was saying to me, “You want to wear what? Here, just put this on.” But in the middle of the day Joe and I went with my mother-in-law and Charlie to my brother-in-law’s house for a fun BBQ and after we got back I decided to step it up.

Saturday highlights: Boy and Bear, Har-di-Har, cheeseburger at Proof, Those Darlins, banging down the bathroom door and running full speed to get to my girls for “The Distance” by Cake. Yes, I am that fan.

photo3-(3)

photo8-(3)

marlena-detailshy5r

Outfit details: gold bow :: seriously found this at the Dollar Tree | sunglasses :: Forever 21 | Triangle necklace :: Nicole & Dime (bought this the day before at 80/35!) | Crop top :: I Heart Ronson at JCPenney | skirt :: Vitae Design Collective | Tights :: Target | Booties :: Charlotte Russe

Talk to you soon kitties!

marlena-signature

2 thoughts on “On crop tops in your 30s

Leave a Reply

