A day on vacay

Last week Joe, Charlie and I went on an epic Midwest road trip for our 2nd Annual Summer Family Vacation (last year we headed west!). On Monday, we found ourselves in the Dells of Wisconsin. If you’ve never been, I’m here to tell you: that place is cuckoo! I’d never heard of it until about a month before we left, and I wasn’t prepared for all the craziness! As a friend said, “It’s like Vegas mixed with Branson plus a bunch of water parks.” Love!

We had a jam-packed day: mini golf, a deer park, a ride on an army boat (called a duck!), and lots and lots of swimming. Luckily Joe snapped some pics of me during mini golf, and I’m also sharing some other photos taken that day.

photo2

photo3-(2)

marlena-details

photo9

photo1-(2)

photo2-(2)

Looking at these photos again makes me wish I was still on vacay! Our whole trip was just super fun, and this day was one of the best.

Packing for a week long trip is always a little bit of an exciting challenge. Here are my tips for vacation packing:

1. Write down/draw out the outfits you want to wear each day, and tuck it into your suitcase. Sometimes I feel inspired on the trip to mix and match, but I like knowing I have planned outfits since you don’t want to spend 45 minutes getting dressed when adventures await!

2. Try packing outfits that you know you feel good in and are comfortable. I’ve packed crazy outfits that I’ve never worn before the day of vacation, and then I’m uncomfortable all day and regret it. Juxtapose those crazy fun outfits for a normal weekend!

3. Plan for weird weather. One day on our trip we hit a cold front and downpour and it was in the mid 60s. This led to the whole family getting new hoodies at a mad dash to Target, when we could have just packed them!

4. Always remember to bring at least one extra outfit. You will look at what you wrote down to wear one day and think, “Nope. Not feeling it.” It’s nice to have another option all ready picked out!

I want to know your tips, since I am definitely no expert (see #3)!

outfit details: sunglasses :: Forever 21 | dress :: an epic garage sale! | belt :: my mom’s | shoes :: Charlotte Russe (super old)
on Charlie :: long-sleeved tee :: gift | basketball shorts :: Children’s Place | Air Jordans :: gift, Nike Store | Batman hoodie :: Target (similar)

marlena-signature

8 thoughts on “A day on vacay

  1. Wow, it looks liek a really fun place! I love your pretty pink dress, and that photos with a deer is so cute 🙂 My packing tip would definitely be to take clothes that all go together, so that there are lots of combination possibilities when you get ready in the morning 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

