Cows, corn dogs and crazy rides: The Iowa State Fair!

The Iowa State Fair is one of those annual events that fellow Iowans either love or hate: there doesn’t seem to be much in-between. I for one love it! This year we kept it pretty simple; we saw the cows, ate a corn dog, and rode the Berry-Go-Round (which.. yikes! Charlie may have loved it but I thought I was going to get sick!). Then as we were leaving we stopped for some ice cream! We did meet up with Jessi and friends and took a state fair time-out to take some pics of our outfits.

I decided to keep it pretty easy and breezy for the fair this year. Jessi gave me this dress for my birthday and I have been wearing it pretty much every week. It’s so comfy and pretty! I decided to pair it with some ruffly socks and my boots for a bit of a country-fied look.

IMG_9752

IMG_9746

IMG_9755

IMG_9762

IMG_9757

marlena-details

One of my favorite things about the fair is that I’ve been going pretty much every year for the last 7 or so years, and I know for a fact that I’ve never seen everything. Take this pretty garden Jessi and I discovered right by the agriculture building; I’d never noticed this little beautiful pocket right off one of the main roads before!

Outfit details: hair bow :: JCPenney | dress :: birthday gift from Jessi, from Hill Vintage | belt and socks :: Target | boots :: Steve Madden, from Von Maur

Have a fabulous Saturday! And if you live in the Des Moines area, may I suggest a visit to the fair tomorrow? It’s half price!

marlena-signature

Leave a Reply

