Romance in Bloom #MonthlyMani

Hi Kitties!

We’re doing something new here on the blog today: nail art! We’re linking up with a slew of lovely bloggers and we’re all sharing our nails based on the theme: Romance in Bloom. The theme was suggested by Sistas from Cali because August is “National Romance Awareness Month” in the U.S.

So when I was googling what on earth National Romance Awareness means, I came across a simple question: “What is one of the most romantic things that has happened to you?” I’ve been cleaning like crazy lately (SUPER ROMANTIC), and the other day I found a bunch of cards from Joe when we had first started dating. He would send me pretty flower bouquets at my job all the time, and would always write funny/charming/heartwarming things on the card. Well I always threw them in my underwear drawer and it was such a fun treat to find and read all of them years later!

So in honor of these notes I have for you: newspaper nails! And a sorry excuse for a flower. And no pictures of aforementioned love notes simply because I packed them away in a box last week and I definitely didn’t feel like digging them back out. Sorry! Laziness prevails.

IMG_9897
IMG_9891
IMG_9898

Have you heard of newspaper nails? They are the easiest nail art ever!

All you do is:

1. wait for your (light color) base coat to completely dry
2. dip your fingers in a little rubbing alcohol
3. press your nail onto a newspaper for a few seconds.
4. after it dries, put a top coat on it and you’re done!

Some of mine are a little smudgy because I moved when I was pressing the nail to the newspaper, so try not to do that!

For the little green dot flowers I just dipped a bobby pin in the polish and used that to paint the dots. Easy!

Admittedly this is my second attempt at Romance in Bloom; the first attempt I tried to paint flowers on top of the newspaper nails and it ended up being super cluttered and just looked really tragic! Whoops.

Now go get inspired by the rest of the bloggers who have participated in #MonthlyMani, and use the hashtag and tag us on Instagram (@hereprettykittykitty) if you decide to try out your own romantic nails!

Kristi from Alligator Toe
Piniel from Pins-Place
Justine from The Two Cent Chick
Jacki and Leslie from Sistas from Cali
Megan from Eclecticity
Angie from hashtagRANDOM
Brooklyn from thesparklinprep
Tracy-Ann from Mint Statement

marlena-signature

 

 

12 thoughts on “Romance in Bloom #MonthlyMani

  1. I LOVE the idea of newsprint inspired by love letter – that is SO romantic! You definitely nailed the theme and I love the colors you chose! The blue nail really pops against the newsprint pattern! 🙂

  2. Fabulous Nail Art!! I will definitely be trying newspaper art because that seems more up my alley of things to do. lol. . . Great job!!

Leave a Reply

