5 Of My Favorite Things: Iowa State Fair Edition

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with the Iowa State Fair. The crowds and hot weather can be overwhelming and really make or break a trip to the fair. With that in mind I kept my outfit cool, casual, comfy and country. At the fair I’m a little out of my element and I want to dress for the occasion and still be me. Mission accomplished I think!
There’s comfort in the routine my hubs and I have developed over the years when tackling the fair and the novelty of this once-a-year occurrence is enough to drag my butt away from the pool for awhile and experience the greatness that is The Iowa State Fair. In no particular order here are my top 5 favorite things about the fair:

1) The Food
Once we walk through the gates and into the fairgrounds John and I typically hit up the fried veggie stand immediately. We especially love the veggie corn dogs and deep-friend pickles, cheese curds and mushrooms. This year we made two visits and on the second time around scarfed Tenderloins and a fried cupcake. Ummmmm yum! Also disgusting. But yum.

2) The People Watching
All kinds of people go to the fair. All. Kinds. Once we get our food we stuff our faces and observe everyone walking around. The fair fashion is incredible! I also try to spy on what other people are eating. Since I have tunnel vision about my favorite food I don’t often branch out, so there’s lots I haven’t tried.

3) The Sky Ride
It’s just a colorful ski-lift but it’s a nice reprieve from the crowds and walking.

4) The Photo Ops
There are many cardboard cut-outs peppered around the fairgrounds and are 100% my favorite pictures to take every year. Check out our pic below to see what I’m talking about. The cow barn is where it’s at!

5) The Midway At Night
I am a total sucker for brightly lit carnival rides, so the midway at night is basically a dream come true. I know carnival rides can be controversial but sorry, I love em! Pretty much the whole reason we went the second time was to experience the midway after dark. We always end the fair with a spin on the ferris wheel and it’s just ten times better at night!

IMG_9739

IMG_9730

IMG_9745

IMG_9741-(2)

IMG_0365

Outfit details: dress :: Hill Vintage | shoes :: Wet Seal | scarf :: gift from Marlena | belt, pin :: thrifted

jessi-signature

6 thoughts on “5 Of My Favorite Things: Iowa State Fair Edition

Leave a Reply

