What to wear to a fall wedding

Oooooh kitties fall is in the AIR! I’m getting excited for everything fall-related: colorful tights, all pumpkin everything, and booooties! I’ve been a busy little lady, and one of the things I’ve been working on is Your Wedding Iowa magazine. So since I’ve had weddings on the brain, Jessi and I thought it would be fun to do a couple posts dedicated to wedding guest fashion!

When it comes to weddings, I like to go a big amount of fancy. And here’s a genius idea: get your hair done! Devan, our friend and awesome stylist, styled our hair for these photos and she did an amazing job as always! While I give it a good attempt every once in awhile, I am definitely a self-proclaimed hair amateur. Devan whipped me into fancy mode for sure! I love how gorgeous and yet totally effortless it looks.

IMG_9982

IMG_0005

IMG_9996

IMG_9997

marlena-details

Usually if someone says, “I’m going to wear snakeskin to a wedding,” I would probably cringe a little. However, if it’s done in small, tasteful doses, it can be super glammy and successful! These snakeskin shoes were a definite impulse buy on my part and I love them. They are both sassy and comfortable. I love pairing them with jeans and a plain gray v-neck too.

I have to admit: I don’t have a wedding to go to this fall, but I loved dressing up! Some ideas for fall weddings:

1. Have fun with print-mixing!
2. Bring a little crop cardigan or bolero in case it’s a bit chilly. Or just dance the night away to stay warm!
3. Take a date night outfit and find a way to turn it up a notch. Remember the words of Oscar Wilde: You can never be overdressed or overeducated!
4. Get your hair done! It’s a great way to feel automatically gorgeous, even if it’s just a blow out.

Outfit details: Hair styled by Devan Elbel, stylist at the Beauty Parlor in Des Moines | Dress :: Dry Goods | Belt :: my mom’s| Heels :: Target | Necklace :: gift from Joe | Bow Bracelet :: Charming Charlie | Kate Spade bag :: gift from Joe from Von Maur

marlena-signature

Stay tuned for Jessi’s fall wedding look: she’s looking too cute!

2 thoughts on “What to wear to a fall wedding

Leave a Reply

