A Summer Dress in Autumn

I love finding new ways to wear clothes I’ve had for years. I stumbled upon this match-up late one night when I crazily packed up 95% of my clothes into cardboard boxes and announced to my empty bedroom, “We are moving to our new house in 30 days so I hereby declare my participation in the 30 for 30 fashion challenge!” More on that later, since as I write this I’m only on Day 18. (Note to self: Day 18?! I have so much to do in 12 days!!)

I’ve tried this look before, and it didn’t quite look right. If the shirt underneath is too big, or too clashy, this look will just not work. I’ve said it a million times, but one trick to matching patterns is to match one color and that’s what I did here. I love being able to wear my summer dresses when there’s a crispy chill in the air. My go-to is to usually wear the button down on top and tie it at the waist, but next time you feel like doing that, why not try going under?

My cat flats are the single biggest compliment-receiver in my office. It’s gotten to the point now whenever someone says they like them, I just meow at them instead of saying thanks! I use them in place of a plain, black flat and I must say it’s working well for me during this challenge-thingy.

IMG_0275

IMG_0273

photo(1)

IMG_0284

IMG_0280

My little family has been trying to enjoy the beautiful weather we’ve been having in between all the packing. Last Sunday (when Joe took these pics) we walked on a pretty trail in the city, and Charlie took his big wheel bike out. He’s growing up so fast! He just whips around these curves so fast that we have to run to catch up with him. And I just have to say this: 2 1/2 is where it’s at, kitties! He sleeps through the night, he loves routine but is still pretty laid back, and every day I’m just amazed at his crazy imagination and wit. Oh and maybe the best part: he loves to snuggle! Okay, I will stop but just know I could talk ad nauseam about my little Chazberry.

Outfit details: Polka dot button up :: JCP | Dress :: Dear Creatures at Vitae Design Collective | Mustard tights :: Target | Cat flats :: Gift from Jessi, Modcloth

marlena-signature

6 thoughts on “A Summer Dress in Autumn

Leave a Reply

