Farewell Summer

It’s officially fall in Iowa and in an attempt to bid adieu to summer I’m sharing one of my favorite summer looks! In the dead of winter I long for nothing more than to throw on a dress and sandals in order to be ready for the day. Don’t get me wrong, I love layers but I’m trying to preserve the tights-free and sweater-free days that are left, and those days are numbered.

This dress to me is quintessential summer. Gingham will forever remind me of picnic blankets and if I had my way I’d spend every obligation-free day sprawled on a picnic blanket, eating bread and cheese and drinking sangria… But that’s not a reality, my life is not a Pinterest board! But if I could, I would.

I love the fit and length of this dress. Often when I buy a dress it’s too long and I have to hem it up or it’s too short which makes it a tights only dress, which means I can only wear it in the fall or winter. This was a birthday gift and on the pricier side, but I’ve learned you really do get what you pay for. Here I get fantastic fit and adorable details like the buttons up the back!

IMG_0642

IMG_0628

IMG_0658

IMG_0655

details-jessi

And then there’s the elephant in the room… My new cat tattoo!! I’ve been wanting a cat tattoo (or Cattoo) for awhile now but nothing I saw or thought of seemed quite right. Then along came John to save the day. Oh the perks of having an artist for a husband! I asked him to draw something up for me and he came up with this and I fell in love. It’s purrrfect, it’s just what I wanted and I’m happily to officially be a member of the crazy cat lady club!

Outfit details: Dress :: Modcloth | shoes, belt :: thrifted | sunglasses :: Ray-Ban | necklace :: White Rabbit

jessi-signature

5 thoughts on “Farewell Summer

Leave a Reply

