On Not Being Outdoorsy

Not so secret confession: I am not super outdoorsy. Sure, I’ll have a walk in the park moment but for the most part I’d prefer to be indoors. I’ve really always been that way:  when I was a kid my mom would push me outdoors and I’d just sit on my bike and read the latest Sweet Valley Twins book (am I the only one on Team Elizabeth?). My childhood (and current!) BFF Kim was (still is) super outdoorsy, loved sports (her street hockey phase was unbearable) and just being outside in general. We definitely had to take turns playing in the woods vs. playing Girl Talk.

So when we went on a little winter adventure with the frozen lake this past weekend, I wasn’t super pumped. I mean… you can literally hear the ice breaking and gurgling! Despite my husband’s soothing voice saying, “Honey, look at this ice. It’s super thick!” I just kept imagining our little family making the 5:00 news: FAMILY OF THREE DIES IN ANKLE DEEP CRACKED ICE, ALL FOR FASHION BLOG PHOTOS. This is how irrational I’ve become with my accident-prone 3 year-old!

Anyway, you will notice I am not in fact on the frozen lake in any of these pics and now you know why!

 

865A8940

865A8937

 

865A8961

865A8887

865A8885

marlena-mixed-up

Fashion time! I bought this skirt in a moment of desperation before Jessi’s Holiday Party. Nothing was working in my closet so I made a last ditch effort at the Target 2 minutes away and luckily it all turned into a success story. This cute top came to us courtesy of Shopbop, and I love it. It’s the perfect amount of crop mixed with the a lovely combination of comfort and style. Plus it’s a color I don’t have a lot of in my closet, so it’s been fun to mix it up.

Outfit details: Crop top :: c/o Shopbop | Hooray of Light Necklace :: Xmas gift from Joe, Modcloth | Striped skirt :: Target (similar) | Cupcake Contest Bag :: Xmas gift from Joe, Modcloth | Riding boots :: Target (these are on sale for $30!)

Hope you’ve had a great week, and happy weekend!

marlena-signature

 

4 thoughts on “On Not Being Outdoorsy

  1. beautiful look! i love the top / skirt combination – so unique and i love the material ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    isntagram: the_ch1ara

Leave a Reply

