It’s That Time of the Year…

Who loves the fair??? I do, I do!! It’s a beautiful time of the year to embrace all things Iowa: agriculture, crafts, fried food and short shorts (ok, maybe that’s not all Iowa specific, but it’s all fantastic nonetheless.) John and I always make a beeline for the fried veggie stand- it’s our absolute favorite! Fried pickles are never better than from this veggie stand, not to mention fried mushrooms, cauliflower and cheese curds. Cheese is a vegetable, right? We also picked up some gigantic tenderloins along the way and proceeded to stuff our faces full of food. It was amazing!!

Other highlights included John’s personalized screen printed unicorn t-shirt (another fair tradition of ours), me coaching Marlena through our ski lift ride, admiring all the super cute goats, and the matching, engraved unicorn necklaces John and I treated ourselves too. Unfortunately I was too stuffed to indulge in a deep fried cupcake (so sad!) but there’s always next year, right?

photo_2-(2)

photo_1-(2)

photo-(2)

photo_4

photo_1

details-jessi

photo_3

details-jessi2

I love to go to the fair in style and pulled out my own favorite pair of short shorts for the occasion. A great thing about the Iowa State Fair: you can pretty much get away with wearing anything. Nothing says country to me better than gingham print and ruffles and wouldn’t you know, I just happened to have that perfect combo! Also spending a day at the fair calls for the purrrrfect pair of walking shoes, so I pulled out my trusty Worishofer’s, which never do me wrong. And finally, topping everything off with animal accessories, I think I fit in beautifully!

Outfit details: top :: thrifted | shorts :: Urban Outfitters | shoes :: Worishofer, zappos.com| belt :: H&M | earrings :: gift | ring :: I-35 truck stop| purse :: Urban Outfitters

jessi-signature

Leave a Reply

